

Watershed Information & Conservation Council

of Napa County

Board of Directors

Michelle Benvenuto Barry Christian Tosha Comendant Anne Cottrell **Evelyn Denzin** Diane Dillon Marita Dorenbecher Geoff Ellsworth David Graves Jason Lauritsen Bernie Narvaez Alfredo Pedroza **Bill Pramuk** Kimberly Richard Pamela Smithers Pierre Washington Donald Williams

<u>Alternates</u>

Mariam Aboudamous Lisa Gift Ryan Gregory Eric Knight Lester Hardy Beth Painter Brent Randol

<u>Staff</u>

David Morrison Secretary Director of Planning, Building & Environmental Services

Jamison Crosby, Natural Resources Conservation Manager

1195 Third St, 2nd Floor Napa, CA 94559

Tel: 707-253-4417

info@napawatersheds.org

ACTION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING

Thursday, January 27, 2022, 3:00 p.m.

Via Zoom Meeting Conference

1195 Third St., Suite 103, First Floor, HR Conference Room, Napa, CA 94559

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL (Chair) (2 min) See Attendance and Vote Tallies

2. APPROVAL OF ACTION MINUTES – October 27, 2021 (Chair) (5 min) *Minutes for the October 27, 2021 meeting were approved as presented.*

3. **PUBLIC COMMENT** – At this time, anyone may address the Council regarding any subject over which the Council has jurisdiction but which is <u>not</u> on today's posted agenda. In order to provide all interested parties an opportunity to speak, time limitations shall be at the discretion of the Chair. As required by Government Code, no action or discussion will be undertaken on any item raised during this Public Comment period (Chair) (*10 min*) *No public comment*.

4. DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

a) Election of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2022 (per Bylaws§ II.A.) (Council) (5 min) Tosha Comendant elected as Chair and Michelle Benvenuto elected as Vice-Chair unanimously.

b) Discussion and adoption of 2022 Meeting Calendar (per Bylaws§ III.A.) (Council) (5 *min*)

The 2022 Meeting Calendar was adopted as presented.

5. **BAY ADAPT, REGIONAL STRATEGY FOR A RISING BAY –** A presentation on this initiative by Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC) will be made (Dana Brechwald, Bay Adapt Project Manager) (20 min) Dana Brechwald gave a presentation and answered question, no action taken.

6. UPDATE ON THE DROUGHT AND WATER SHORTAGE TASK FORCE (DWSTF)

– Senate Bill 552 requires the creation of a Drought Task Force. An update on the solicitation for DWSTF members will be presented (David Morrison, Planning, Building & Environmental Services Director) (*15 min*)

David Morrison gave a verbal presentation, no action taken.

7. DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

STRATEGIC PLANNING FOR THE WICC – Discussion of a strategic planning approach will be continued from the October 28, 2021 meeting and next steps discussed (David Morrison, Planning, Building & Environmental Services Director) (15 min) David Morrison gave a verbal presentation and discussion followed surrounding the revised mission statement and goals, no action taken.

8. AN UPDATE ON THE NAPA VALLEY SUBBASIN GROUNDWATER SUSTAINABILITY PLAN (GSP) -County staff will provide an update on the Groundwater Sustainability Plan for the Napa Valley Subbasin. (Jamison Crosby, Natural Resources Conservation Manager, Napa County) (10 min) Jamison Crosby gave a presentation, no action taken.

9. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

Discussion of future agenda items (Staff/Council) (5 min) No action taken.

10. NEXT MEETING:

Next scheduled meeting:

ng: <u>Thursday, April 28, 2022 – 3:00 p.m.</u> Via Zoom Meeting Conference

11. ADJOURNMENT (Chair)

Motion and approval to adjourn.

<u>Note</u>: If requested, the agenda and documents in the agenda packet shall be made available in appropriate alternative formats to persons with a disability. Please contact Jamison Crosby at 707-253-4823, 1195 Third St. Suite 210, Napa CA 94559



WICC Attendance and Vote Tallies – 2022 P = Present E = Excused

| | | | January 27 | | | April 28 | | | July 28 | | | October 27 | | | |
|----|--------------------------------------|---------|------------|--------|---------------|----------|---------|-----------|---------|----------|----------|------------|---------|---------|---|
| | | Attend. | Minutes | Chair | Vice Chair | Calendar | Attend. | Minutes | | Attend. | Minutes | | Attend. | Minutes | |
| Bo | oard of Directors | | 1 | | 1 | | | | | 1 | | | 1 | | |
| 1 | Michelle Benvenuto, Vice Chair | Ρ | Motion | | | 2nd | | | | | | | | | |
| 2 | Barry Christian | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 3 | Tosha Comendant, Chair | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 4 | Anne Cottrell | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 5 | Evelyn Denzin | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Diane Dillon | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 7 | Marita Dorenbecher | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 8 | Geoff Ellsworth | Р | | | Motion | | | | | | | | | | |
| 9 | David Graves | Ρ | 2nd | Motion | | Motion | | | | | | | | | |
| 10 | Jason Lauritsen | Ρ | | | 2nd | | | | | | | | | | |
| 11 | Bernie Narvaez | Е | Е | Е | Е | Е | | | | | | | | | |
| 12 | Alfredo Pedroza | Е | Е | Е | Е | Е | | | | | | | | | |
| 13 | Bill Pramuk | Ρ | | 2nd | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 14 | Kimberly Richard | Е | Е | Е | Е | Е | | | | | | | | | |
| 15 | Pamela Smithers | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 16 | Pierre Washington | Е | E | Е | Е | E | | | | | | | | | |
| 17 | Donald Williams | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | <u> </u> | <u> </u> | | | | |
| | Alternates | | | | | Vote R | epreser | nted if E | Board I | Vembe | er is Ex | cused | | | 1 |
| 18 | Mariam Aboudamous | Е | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 19 | Lisa Gift | Е | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Ryan Gregory | Е | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Eric Knight | Р | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Lester Hardy | Е | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Beth Painter | Е | ļ | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 24 | Brent Randol | Е | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | County Staff | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 25 | David Morrison | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Jamison Crosby | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 27 | Alexandria Quackenbush | Ρ | | | | | | | | | | | | | |